AASHTO’s Special Committee on AASHTOWare Welcomes New Member

February 01, 2019

The AASHTO Special Committee on AASHTOWare announced last month that Devin Townsend has been appointed to an initial two-year term, lasting until June 30, 2020.

Townsend, who has been with the Nebraska Department of Transportation for nearly 11 years but has recently stepped into the role of chief technology officer at the department, credits a “unique background” that spans experience in civil design and construction as well as information technology for a “customer-focused perspective” on how technology can impact state DOT operations.

“My education in civil engineering, experience in heavy highway construction, and AASHTOWare Project systems administration has given me a unique perspective on how business processes, software solutions, and process improvement can work together to achieve great things,” he explained. “I have been fortunate to have the opportunity to apply this knowledge to efforts such as E-Construction implementation, enterprise data warehousing, and business intelligence with Nebraska DOT and national partners.”